is there an "easy" way to "consume" media on the server?

Hey guys,

I am very new to mediasoup ecosystem, I spent 1 week working with ChatGPT everyday for 4-6 hours, and I still does not have a working app. So I must be doing something wrong.

My question is “based on my requirements, my 0 experience and the fact that chtgpt can’t really help with mediasoup tasks, do you think I should pursue the idea of mediasoup for my app?”

I am building joblander.app - a chrome extension that gives you realtime ai insights on the zoom. My current architecture is just new MediaRecorder on the client that sends audio chunks via websocket to the server. Evertything is working well, except I have only tabMedia not user mic/cam. For my current needs it is enough. However, for future features I need to send 2 streams (tab and user) and on the server merge audio, cut video, cut audio, etc. Hence mediasoup.

However, now after so many attempts I understood that there is no easy way to get the audio/video data on the server? I mean to get the actual Buffer with data that I can .pipe to whatever ffmpeg or trasncription server I need to extract RTP packets? is my understanding correct?

Hey there,

About integrating Mediasoup for your app, it sounds like it could be a good fit for your future feature needs, especially if you’re looking to handle multiple streams and perform server-side processing down the line.

As for accessing audio/video data on the server, you’re correct. While Mediasoup doesn’t provide direct access to raw audio/video buffers, you can set up plain transports and use tools like ffmpeg or gstreamer to consume media server-side.

If you need a solid starting point for server-side media handling, I’d recommend checking out this demo: Mediasoup3 Record Demo. It’s a great resource for getting started with server-side processing.