Need help regarding setting up turn server with mediasoup server

Hi Team,

First of all, thank you for the Mediasoup, It’s amazing.
I just need some help related to turn setup. I read IBC’s comment is one of the turn/stun setup post.

As per IBC :

mediasoup (server) does not need any knowledge/configuration related to TURN. You must setup your TURN server so it has proper direct networking to the mediasoup server. That’s all.

In the client side you pass STUN/TURN servers when creating a send/recv transport:

I’m very new to this turn/stun. But as per the above comment, we put ice servers info in our client config and I saw we received packets in Coturn logs and the connection is also stated as a relay. I Just don’t know how we make a direct connection to our mediasoup server from the turn server?

Can anyone help me or share his approach to setting up the turn server to the mediasoup?

Do you have STUN and TURN server URLs? if so, you just need to add the info to in the client side.

recvTransport = mediasoupDevice.createRecvTransport({ iceServers: [ ] )}

and you need to add IceServer to createSendTransport as well.
You can find an example of how to the array format looks like

for security you may want to use proxy to save your TURN server credential

Always add stun and turn so in case stun does not work, you can rely your media over turn.

Configuring a STUN server in a mediasoup-client is completely useless. mediasoup server is ICE Lite so it’s not gonna check client’s ICE candidates (which cannot even be signaled to mediasoup BTW). So this is incorrect.

Of course, you can configure a TURN server, but zero reasons to use a STUN server.

2 Likes

@ibc Thank you for the info. I am coming from native Webrtc. good to know that stun is not needed. does that mean mediasoup-client will always try to avoid using TURN unless it was required? my concerned that TURN server will be used for ice candidates where TURN is not required.