Getting started with mediasoup-client-aiortc

Hi,

I am very new to Mediasoup, WebRTC and Javascript, hence please bear with me if the question is too basic. Would appreciate if you can please point me where to look.

I am experienced in Python, and want to use it do some image processing before streaming the video. I looked at the mediasoup-demo (which I can run), but now want to use mediasoup-client-aiortc to insert a Python worker that does the image processing.

However I am unsure how to start. If I look at the aiortc subdirectory in mediasoup-demo, it seems to have most of the elements except it does not have a client html/js file. Is that something I should write on my own, or modify the files under app/ to use aiortc client?

I tried running the script “npm run dev” inside aiortc/ subdirectory. My camera light turns on but the Websocket connection to the server (running locally under mediasoup-demo/server) fails to connect. Note that running “npm start” under app/ (as described in README) is able to connect to same server.

Here is the dump:

mediasoup-demo-aiortc starting mediasoup-demo-aiortc: {
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “roomId”: “devel”,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “peerId”: “mediasoup-client-aiortc-id”,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “displayName”: “mediasoup-client-aiortc”,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “useSimulcast”: false,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “useSharingSimulcast”: false,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “forceTcp”: false,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “produce”: true,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “consume”: true,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “forceH264”: false,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “forceVP8”: false,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “datachannel”: true,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “externalAudio”: “”,
mediasoup-demo-aiortc “externalVideo”: “”
mediasoup-demo-aiortc } +0ms
mediasoup-demo-aiortc:RoomClient constructor() [roomId:“devel”, peerId:“mediasoup-client-aiortc-id”, displayName:“mediasoup-client-aiortc”, device:aiortc] +0ms
terminal> mediasoup-client:aiortc createWorker() +0ms