many-to-many scaling

Hello,
I’m fairly new to mediasoup, and managed to build out and test my first mediasoup deployment a few days a go. While I do have logic in place for mediasoup to begin using multiple workers, I opted to disable that logic to test how much load one CPU can take before it needs to fan out. And during this testing, I noticed some strange behavior.

1 CPU maxed out with 12 producers, 60 consumers
I opened up 6 browser tabs, each of which was transmitting webcam+mic streams.
If I understood the math, this should’ve resulted in 12 producers: (6 (tabs) x 2 (webcam+mic))
Each of these tabs also received all of the other tabs’ streams,
thereby leading to 60 consumers: ((6 * (6-1)) * 2)

Given that this number is a far way away from the 500 consumers referenced in the Scalability document, I’m wondering whether this is due to my (poor) configuration, or due to multiple producers. Are producers ( P ) to be treated just the same as consumers ( C ) while doing the math? In terms of scaling, is 1P+3C equivalent to 2P+2C?

Now, obviously, the other variable here is the CPU itself. In case this helps, here’s what I was able to gather from /proc/cpuinfo

vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 45
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 0 @ 2.00GHz

Here’s the configuration I’ve cobbled together so far from various internet sources (forgive the bad underscore/camel-case keys):

mediasoup:
  server:
    num_workers: 4
    worker_settings:
      logLevel: warn
      rtcIPv4: true
      rtcIPv6: true
      rtcMinPort: 30000
      rtcMaxPort: 49999
    router:
      mediaCodecs:
        - kind: audio
          mimeType: audio/opus
          clockRate: 48000
          channels: 2
          parameters:
            useinbandfec: 1
            sprop-stereo: 1
            cbr: 1
            stereo: 1
            minptime: 10
            maxaveragebitrate: 131072
          rtcpFeedback: []
        - kind: video