Mediasoup and Electron

Hi all,

Does anyone have any insight into implementing Mediasoup with Electron?

The issue I’m currently having is I cannot use ‘new mediasoup.Device();’ within the main process, as it is not exposed to the chromium frontend and thus detects no browser. However, if I attempt to use it within the frontend, I cannot pass it back to the backend main process as device has properties that cannot be serialised and therefore cannot be sent through IPC (Interprocess communcation) back to the main process.

I have attempted to search for any examples, here and elsewhere but have not found anything, so any help with be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

It should not cause any issue, just convert it to json and send it to main process, just like socket io does.

why do you need it in main process by the way?

Hi, thanks for the reply and sorry if the following is a bit wack, I’m still learning so I’ll do my best at explaining.

I need to run const device = new Device(); to create the device object for my mediasoup client. I have to run this in my front-end as it has to be exposed to the chromium front-end to detect the browser (As I assume you cannot construct the device object without exposure to the browser.) This works.

However, I then have to load the rtp capabilities (ie await device.load({ routerRtpCapabilities });).

If I try to load the capabilities inside the ‘frontend process’ I get an error of DOMException: Failed to execute 'structuredClone' on 'Window': function Array() { [native code] } could not be cloned.

node_modules\mediasoup-client\lib\utils.js
function clone(value) {
    if (value === undefined) {
        return undefined;
    }
    else if (Number.isNaN(value)) {
        return NaN;
    }
    else if (typeof structuredClone === 'function') {
        // Available in Node >= 18.
---->   return structuredClone(value); <-- ERRORS HERE
    }
    else {
        return JSON.parse(JSON.stringify(value));
    }
}