New end points added to server.js not getting called.

In short all I want to do is add a new route to the sample project, I have some experience with node and express apps, but for the life of me I cannot understand why when I add a new route, like this :

expressApp.get(’/exit’, function (req, res, next) {
// res.send(“hello”);
});

I’m getting a 404 not found when i run the server And refresh in my browser.

I’ve tried all of the obvious things, but I’m definitely not hitting the endpoint, which makes me think I have to add any new route I want to define somewhere else in the codebase, But alas I cannot seem to find where I would add this, Has anyone got an idea how I can do this? Appreciate this is a very basic question but I am at my wits end and I really don’t know what the issue could be.

You have here the http express routes defined in the demo.

You might be calling the wrong url :man_shrugging: Without the src code its all a guess.

1 Like

Okay I’ll challenge you to see if it works for you. If you go to the demo project and set it up on your server, amending the config, and adding your certificates. Then add this route :

expressApp.get(
		'/rooms/hello',
		async (req, res, next) =>
		{
			logger.info('">>>> WE HIT THE OLD GIRL"');
			res.send("hi");
		});

Every single time without fail I am getting >> Cannot GET /rooms/hello

I am wondering if there is something that happens when i run NPM start that in some way removes the routes i am adding ? I have researched this point and i cannot see how that (or gulp) could be doing that or altering the server in terms of the routes in any way. Any ideas? Please i am so lost on this.

Someone else must have had this problem. I am running on ubuntu 18.0

This is not the most polite way to ask for help. If you have a problem you cannot solve, that’s not a “challenge” for others, neither the fact that you have a problem you cannot solve means that “someone else must have had this problem”.