What are the design limitations leading to separate send/receive transports on the client and can we lift them?

I’m new to mediasoup and getting something working is unexpectedly challenging.

One particular point I’d like to discuss here is the requirement to have separate transport for sending and receiving on the client.
It is really annoying, especially for data channels. Just to get simple duplex data channel with predefined label one needs to write hundreds of lines of boilerplate and have a bunch of signaling messages. There should be an easier way.

I’ve seen Can I create a sendTransport and recvTransport from 1 server-side Transport?, but looks like things have changed since and current documentation says that sever-side transport is not limited to just sending or receiving, good.
Now there is even older Reasons for having separate transports for producing and consuming media which addresses client-side specifically, but again, maybe things have changed since?

Is there any chance to get sending and receiving using the same transport today?
If not, what are the key blockers and maybe there is a way to help in removing them?

P.S. It is so challenging I’m currently considering using https://github.com/node-webrtc/node-webrtc for data channels and manage that myself instead.

In server side there has never been such a limitation.

No. This is still true. As I said in that topic:

By having separate Peerconnectios to send and receive we avoid the incredibly painful bidirectionality of Unified-Plan and so much hell in SDP O/A. And we can safely decide which codecs to use for each producer and consumer.

This is part of the SDP pain we want to avoid. In mediasoup we allow (via mediasoup-client) to decide which codec to use for each Producer. You can send a webcam track using VP8, another video using H264 with simulcast, and screen sharing using VP9 with SVC. Or send 200 different video tracks. And all them over the same sending transport.