Feasability Question: 16-member multiplatform group video conference web app

Hi! I’m new here. I’m a freelance developer, and I’ve recently taken on a project from a client to build a custom video conferencing platform. They expect about 16 simultaneous users at a time, all of whom would like to share audio and video. I’m currently in the investigative phase, looking at technologies for the project, and came across mediasoup. It looks great, but what are the performance considerations? Could mediasoup be used to develop a web app with this kind of usage? I’d like to know if anyone has successfully used it for such a purpose and how the performance turned out. If it is possible, what considerations need to be made about the server infrastructure?

Thank you. I’m excited about this project and the technologies involved but am new to WebRTC and video streaming.

hey @devthered mediasoup would definitely fit as solution to your project description.

They expect about 16 simultaneous users at a time, all of whom would like to share audio and video.

If they are the only users connected to the server at a particular time I don’t think you would have to apply any complex scalability strategy, the same used by mediasoup-demo should be enough for that.

Thanks, Oscar! Your reply is encouraging. In the future, the app may want to support multiple simultaneous rooms, each with ~20 users. What kind of scaling strategy could be applied to extend the app this way?