iOS native client support

Hello,
I’ve started working on the iOS side of libmediasoup.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to iOS development and I’ve never ported C++ to Objective-C/Swift, so if anyone can help me It would be greatly appreciated.

For now I think I’ve got the base blueprint sorted, and I’m trying to port C++ to Swift (Following various tutorials…)

Repository:

2 Likes

Great! BTW it would be great if your project and this one (mediasoup-client-android) become somehow similar in their design. Remember that you do not need to port any C++ code to ObjC but just use the C++ API exposed by libmediasoupclient and provide an ObjC wrapper for its API.

1 Like

@ibc
For clarity I will try to implement it as close to the android SDK as possible.

From what I’ve read it seems the below is the best approach?
libmediasoup C++ -> Objective-C++ Wrapper -> Objective-C Wrapper.
The above allows objective-c user’s with zero knowledge of c++ to use the library, and with a bridging header also allows Swift users to use the library.

If anyone has a better approach/example implementations please share.
For now I’ll work on the Objective-C++ Wrappers

I’m not an expert in Objective C/C++. Just wondering, why not going directly to Swift instead?

I’m not an expert in Objective C/C++. Just wondering, why not going directly to Swift instead?

Unfortunately this can not be done, We need a way to “port” the c++ object to objective-c/Swift.
Sort of like an iOS version of Android JNI.

For example:
C++ mediasoupclient::Consumer → Objective-C++ (mediasoupclient::Consumer to NSObject) → Objective-C (NSObject)
Swift users will need to use a bridging header to be able to use the Objective-C header.

1 Like

Update:
All of the base libmediasoupclient has been implemented. :slight_smile:
There are still some small things that need to be implemented, which will be complete once I’ve tested it on a sample application.

3 Likes