Partly solved: Could not detect Ninja v1.8.2 or newer

I am a total beginner so please forgive me for asking something stupid!
running npm install of our server application built with mediasoup, it fails with Could not detect Ninja v1.8.2 or newer
Setup computer #1: MacMini M1, macOS 11.4, node 17.0.1, npm 6.14.15, mediasoup 3.9.0, probably missing something relevant
I can build locally on a MacBook Pro M1 without any issues, the same versions except macOS 11.2
Installing on the same computer has worked without any issues, last time 2 weeks ago but the day before yesterday it failed
Another MacMini #2 which I have also installed the application before fails with the same error.
Some updates have been done on #1 but is not obviously connected since #2 also fails now
Uninstalled v16, not sure which, and installed v17, same error but explicitly stated in v17
The only common denominator is that both computers are at the same location, which doesn’t make any sense. #1 is outside the firewall, #2 is inside the local network.
Works for everyone building locally…
There has been three other people more competent than me looking at it but without finding the cause
Any suggestions?
And how do I upload the error log?

That usually means something unexpected happened to the build system used for worker. Have you tried to delete node_modules and see if the issue repeats?

Yes many times, many variations of the same build, variations of mediasoup version, 3.7.17 and 3.9.0, on two different machines, works locally on my macbook pro m1 every time, has worked on the target computer every time until now, has worked every time on #2 until now

So one thing that is different is the network, mediasoup makes calls to e.g. mesonbuild.com if that could matter? It seems like such a long shot though, especially since #1 is outside and #2 is inside firewall.

And here is a link to the error log: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1JxFQ7O5ZkkNnCwgp4SQ9iup3dwngKVU8b4ouT2CKWRI/edit?usp=sharing