Install media soup on a digital ocean setup, need help

Im not a programmer, so Im not that skilled…

But I would like to run media soup due to a project I will make. Im a medical doctor. And in these corona days I would like to be able to offer a video chat fuction for my patients that can not come in to my practice due to corona like symptoms.

I did try to set it up using the install guide: https://mediasoup.org/documentation/v3/mediasoup/installation/

And I did try using one of the docker installations. I was not able to set it up.

Any other good tutorials?

Thanks.

Honestly, if you don’t want to build your own custom application, better use any online multimedia product/application which is already done and deployed for people to use for free, such as Jitsi-Meet.

1 Like

Thanks for the honest answer. I will look at that solution.

Hi @frold, if you are legit I would happily set that up for you or host myself a copy of media soup demo which should be enough for your doctor appointments.

If you need my help, I would be happy to help you help as many as you can. Oscar.

1 Like

@aetheon
Wauw what an offer :slight_smile:
I might be a solution.

@ibc
I did set up and test jitsi-meet. But it will not run on a mobile phone out of the box. You need to install an app.

I need a easy to use solution. For my and the patient.

@frold You could use a self-hosted media soup demo, same as in https://v3demo.mediasoup.org/, and send the patients invitation links by email/sms like https://v3demo.mediasoup.org/?roomId=jo80jddv, where roomId is unique per patient. That would work on mobile browsers like safari on iOS and chrome on android.

With the time constraint that might be the easiest solution, I’m guessing. Can I ask why aren’t you using facebook messenger, google hangouts or other apps like that?

It was also my initial idea. Why I ended up here :slight_smile: